Wilkommen Heidi !


Sweet Pea Pod

Heidi's Dream Cocoon

I’ll admit it, I really love babies. I know, it’s the way we’re designed. A helpless babe enters the room and instantly our hearts dissolve into porridge. Our mothering (or fathering) instincts jolt into gear when we’re near an infant and inherently our arms naturally unfurl as our senses decree that we shall  intrinsically shield this perfect being from any peril. Instinctively we are protective yet gentle and subdued.  Next we’re swooning and cooing and ah-ing. The simple truth is, this innocent, vulnerable being signifies all that is right in the world.
There has been a barrage of births in our family. My sibling’s children have been plowing through marriages and house acquisitions and the end result has been a mushroom effect and I don’t see an end to these proceedings any time soon. Weddings, showers, pregnancies, births, babies, more showers, baptisms, Thanksgiving banquet firsts, Christmas firsts, as well as thee 3, then 6 then 1 year milestones! I have became a Great Aunt … Tante for the 4th time in 1.5 years time. Although they are not my grandchildren, I have discovered that I channel an acute sense of pride and joy and responsibility. I have 2 daughters who may someday grace this world with more Lilliputians – however for the time being, I’m satisfied to wait patiently for that special day.

Infants evoke the remarkable, the poignant indisputable love. They declare purity and sublime innocence.  In  the movie “The Unbearable Lightness of Being” ( based on the novel by Milan Kundera), there is this perfect moment when serenity is finally achieved. The unerring instant gives way to thee quintessential moment. What occurred before and after is not import. The present has the luster.

I am thankful that everything is going well in our respective families. These are happy times. Moreover these are happy times for the Tante’ (aunt) who knits. (BTW this Tante’ happens to be me.) I just finished this chapeau and cocoon for baby Heidi who just came into the world on Sunday. I knitted as though possessed. That baby needed to be swaddled in merino and fast!
The above ensemble was knitted in seed stitch. I chose to use a pale pink to accent Heidi’s angelic face.

 

It was a joy to make. Alas it is but a baby’s dream cocoon.
Sweet dreams little blossom! Godspeed!

 

Other adorable dream-like variants:

Periwinkle Baby Cocoon and Chapeau

Same Baby Cocoon that I knit for baby Heidi. This time I chose Periwinkle. The wool is merino, chunky and super soft!

Any takers on this? Would fit a 6 to 7 lb. New born Sweet Pea!

Leave a Reply

