A Winsome Gaze


Endearingly twee !

These photos took some time to find their  way to The Perched Bird. Although  the  knitting began in December there have been a few set-backs which  have prevented timely posting of this hat. Here’s the gist of what transpired: I sometimes struggle with gauge when choosing alternate yarn than specified on a particular pattern. I set forth to knit up this here Teddy Bear hat for Elin back in December. I chose a smaller circular needle, adjusted the number of cast-on stitches and ventured into an afternoon of knit and purl frenzy. It went lickety-split, nevertheless in spite of being a speed-meister, I sensed something  wasn’t right. As it turned out its fit would be far from de rigueur. When Signe (Elin’s Mom) first tried it on Elin, she reported to me via phone call: “It’s cute! kinda’ big but …oh that’s okay – she’ll grow into it”(for the record – I had wanted a fitting before the pom-poms were attached but alas it didn’t transpire). Well, no-one’s head grows sideways  dear Signe (except mine when I have a sinus headache) so the growing into wasn’t going to happen.  Despite my unwillingness, I began to disentangle the “Sublime” -(yarn) back into a ball. I flinched at the prospect of repetition but at last settled into that Déjà vu feeling with gusto. I knew what I had to do next: adjust the gauge, adjust the pattern, adjust my mind and ta-da ! This is the result. As you can see it fits! Such a process! Vexation be gone! I flitted through that caper.

Mellifluous and sweet on the eye n’est pas?


 

Knitted here in: “Sublime”, a chunky merino, tweed yarn, Colour: Bubblegum twist

(80% merino/10% viscose/10% acrylic)

This entry was posted in Knit, knitted baby items, knitting, Merino, Wool by The Perched Bird. Bookmark the permalink.

About The Perched Bird

The Perched Bird's works in chorus with Karin, an Artist/Designer and is engaged in categorically showcasing her designs and creations. From art prints and paintings, textile designs, to wool concoctions, to her spin on day to day to culinary and garden achievements, Karin's posts and artifacts will leave you stimulated. Orders for knitted items can be placed at any time. A page of prices is coming soon! Please leave a comment! Emails to: aldingerkarin@gmail.com

One thought on “A Winsome Gaze

Leave a Reply

